Online Store Button
Inaugural Toby Awards
Apply Now
Latest News
McPherson, Kansas - The Central Christian College of Kansas Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) busine..

Gardner, KS – The governing body appointed James Belcher as chief of the Gardner P..

Students pursuing an online Bachelor of Science - Health & Human Services degree with Centra..

Kayla on Computer

Inaugural Toby Awards


Inaugural Toby Awards

Article by Jeremy Nelson

McPherson, KS – Last Sunday night, the Central Christian College Athletics Department hosted their inaugural "Toby" Awards Show, as a way to highlight and honor the CCC Student Athletes. The event was held in Greer Auditorium at 7:00 pm, and lasted until 9:00 pm.

The CCC Student Athletes were welcomed to the event with at VIP entrance complete with a red carpet. As they entered via the red carpet, they were greeted by CCC campus pastor, Justin Mourn, who asked them all a few engaging questions about who they thought would be taking home awards, and who their designer was.

CCC Provost, Dr. Lenny Favara, was the event's Master of Ceremonies. He opened up the show by "roasting" a few of the athletes and teams. He poked fun at senior basketball player, Dustin Rojas, by saying the college was going to save some money on the new dorm they plan to build, by using all of the bricks he put up this season. There was also a reference to "deflate-gate" much to the chagrin of CCC Volleyball Coach, Christina Ludwick, who is a diehard Patriots fan.

Throughout the show, each of the varsity sport were honored by their coach coming up and highlighting their teams' achievements. The team members were brought to the front of the auditorium and their names were read. In between the team highlights, special awards, awards voted on by coaches, administration, and the general student body, were handed out, with acceptance speeches delivered by the winner of the award.

Below are a list of the awards handed out, and who won the award.

Individual Performance of the Year:

Male: Lee Stoops (Baseball)
Female: Mayuko Shono (Volleyball)

Team Performance of the Year:

Men's Basketball

Above and Beyond Award:

Caitlin Corn (Women's Golf)

CCC Super Fan:

Emores Petty

Newcomer of the Year:

Male: Jhon Peralta (Baseball)
Female: Ciara Costello (Volleyball / Women's Basketball)

Keith Ivers Christian Athlete:

Male: Sebastian Diaz – Carbo
Female: Kayla Townsend (Volleyball)

Unsung Hero Award:

Brandon Glynn (Men's Basketball)

Coach of the Year:

Scott Fogarty (Women's Soccer)

Howard J. Krober Male Athlete of the Year:

Alonzo Stafford (Men's Basketball)

Claudine Ferrell Female Athlete of the Year:

Sydney Nelson (Softball)

Following the special awards Dr. Favara read off the list of MCAC, NCCAA, and NAIA scholar athletes. SeniorsRaven Void, and Dustin Rojas were named MCAC Scholar Athletes of the Year, with each receiving a plaque from the MCAC. The evening concluded with this year's 26 seniors being recognized. Each senior received an acrylic plaque and a gift from the college.

After the awards show, everyone was invited to the Miller Plaza for refreshments. All in all, the "Toby" Awards were well received by all who attended. It was definitely a break from what traditionally had been done, but it was a welcome change.


No Very

Captcha Image